Arkansas Local Car Insurance
Arkansas Auto Insurance
Like most other states, Arkansas has specific insurance requirements for automobile owners. All Arkansas residents who own a car must be able to provide proof of insurance at any time; this insurance ensures that everyone on the road is protected in case of accident or neglect. To accomplish that, the state government has laws about the amount of insurance resident drivers must maintain.
How do you know that you’re driving legal?
In Arkansas, the state government requires auto owners to purchase liability insurance. This type of insurance protects you against claims that may be filed against you in an accident for which you are legally liable, up to a certain limit.
- The minimum insurance requirement for bodily injury or death of one person in one accident is $25,000.
- The minimum requirement for bodily injury or death of two people in one accident is $50,000.
- The minimum requirement for property damage is $25,000.
Basically, liability insurance protects you for damages you could inflict upon another person. If you’re found legally liable for an accident or damage to someone else’s health or property while driving, your insurance company will pay them to make it right—up to a certain amount. That’s where your coverage plan comes in. The type of coverage you have what types of damage you’re protected against and just how much will be paid toward it.
What about other types of insurance?
Liability is the most basic type of insurance required by 47 states, but many people choose to pay for additional insurance to protect themselves from unforeseen costs and accidents.
- Collision insurance: pays for damage done to your vehicle in case of a collision with another car.
- Comprehensive insurance: pays for damage other than accidents/neglect. Comprehensive coverage usually includes damages caused by weather, vandalism, or theft.
- Medical coverage: pays for your medical costs regardless of fault whenever you’re in an accident.
- Personal injury protection: pays medical expenses for the insured driver, no matter whose fault the accident was. It is required in some states.
- Uninsured motorist: pays for your expenses when an uninsured driver causes damage to your vehicle
Choosing the Right Policy
Talk to an agent about your concerns and to find out what plan is right for you. Knowing the requirements for your state is just the first step—now you’ve got to compare prices and find the perfect policy for you.